Over 20% Off!
Limited Time Member Discount
$
$
 
 
 
REMAINING

Refresh your driving skills and you could save on your auto insurance. Learn more about AARP Driver Safety's online and classroom Smart Driver courses.

School Bus Fines by State

State Stopping Distance Penalties
Alabama   First offense is a fine between $150 to 300. Second offense is a fine between $300 and $500, at least 100 hours of community service and suspension of license for a period of 30 days. Third offense is a fine between $500 and $1,000, at least 200 hours of community service, and suspension of license for 90 days. Fourth or subsequent offense is a class C felony, a fine between $1,000 and $3,000, and suspension of license for one year. 
Alaska Must stop at least 30 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus continues and the flashing lights are no longer illuminated. Class B misdemeanor. Fine of up to $2,000 and up to 90 days in jail. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
Arizona    First offense is a $250 civil fine and 2 points assessed against driving record. Second offense within 36 months of the first offense is a $750 fine and license suspended up to 6 months. Third or subsequent offense within 36 months is a $1,000 fine and license suspension of 6 months to 1 year.
Arkansas   Misdemeanor and fine from $250 to $1,000 and/or imprisonment up to 90 days. Possible community service up to 400 hours and suspension of license between 21 days to 1 year.
California   First offense is a fine of $150 to $250 and 1 point. Second offense is a fine of $500 to $1,000. Third offense is a license suspension for 1 year.
Colorado Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the visual lights are no longer on. Fine between $150 to $300 and/or imprisonment between 10 to 90 days. A second offense within a 5 year period can result in a fine between $300 and $1,000 and/or imprisonment between 10 days to 1 year. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
Connecticut Must stop at least 10 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus no longer displays flashing lights. Fine of $450 for a first time offense. Any subsequent offense will result in a fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or up to 30 days in jail. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
Delaware   Fine of $115 to $230 and/or imprisonment of 30 days to 60 days for first offense; possible license suspension for 1 month up to 6 months. For each subsequent  offense that occurs within 3 years, a fine between $115 and $575 and/or imprisonment between 60 days to 6 months.
District of Columbia Must stop at least 15 away feet from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus continues and the flashing lights are no longer illuminated. $500 fine and 4 points assessed against driving record.
Florida   Drivers who pass the bus on the right-hand side will pay a fine up to $265. Any subsequent offense on the right side within 5 years of the first offense will result in a $265 fine and in a suspended license between 180 days to 1 year. Drivers who pass on the left-hand side will pay a fine up to $165. Any subsequent offense on the left side will result in a $165 fine and a suspended license between 90 days to 6 months. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
Georgia   First offense is a $300 fine, second offense (within 5 year period) is a $750 fine, third offense and any subsequent offense is a  $1,000 fine. Up to 6 points assessed against driving record.
Hawaii Must stop at least 25 feet away from a school bus on a highway or road in a residential area. Cannot proceed until the school bus resumes motion and the visual signs are turned off. Fine up to $500 and/or community service.
Idaho   Fine of $100 to $500 and 4 points assessed against driving record.
Illinois Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. First offense is a fine of $150 and suspension of license for up to 3 months. Second offense within 5 year period is a fine of $500 and suspension of license for up to a year.
Indiana   Class A infraction punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and up to 60 days in jail.  Eight (8) points assessed against driving record.
Iowa   First offense is a fine between $250 to $675, and/or imprisonment under 30 days, and a 30-day license suspension. Second offense (within 5 year period) is a fine of at least $315 to $1875, and/or imprisonment under 1 year, and a 90-day license suspension. Third offense (within 5 year period) is a fine between $315 and $1,875, and/or imprisonment under 1 year, and a 180-day license suspension.
Kansas   Fine of $315.
Kentucky   Fine of $100 to $200 and/or imprisonment for 30 days up to 60 days and 6 points. Second violation within a 3 year period is a fine of $300 to $500 and/or imprisonment of 60 days up to 6 months. A vehicle owner may be charged with the violation.
Louisiana Must stop at least 30 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. Fine of $100 to $500 and/or imprisonment up to 6 months. License suspension for 30 days upon first offense, 60 days upon second offense, and 1 year upon third offense.
Maine   Class E crime with a fine no less than $250 for the first offense, and suspended license for 30 days upon second offense or any subsequent offense within 3 years.
Maryland Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the flashing red lights are no longer activated. Fine of up to $1,000 and 3 points assessed against driving record.
Massachusetts   First offense is a fine of at least $250. Second offense is a fine between $500 to $1000 and a 6 month license suspension. Third or subsequent offense is a fine between $1,000 and $2,000 and a license suspension of 1 year.
Michigan Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. Fine of $100 to $500, possible community service of up to 100 hours at a school. Three (3) points assessed against driving record.
Minnesota Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus stop-signal arm is retracted and the red lights are no longer flashing. Fine starting at $500 and up to 90 days in jail.
Mississippi Must stop at least 10 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the children have crossed the street or highway and the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated and the hand operated stop signal is retracted. First offense is a fine between $350 and $750 and/or up to 1 year imprisonment. Second or subsequent offense (within 5 years) is a fine between $750 and $1,500 and/or up to imprisonment for 1 year.
Missouri   Class A misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 1 year. For first offense, suspension of license for up to 90 days. For second or subsequent offenses, suspension of license for up to 120 days.
Montana Must stop at least 30 feet away from a school bus. The driver cannot proceed until the children have entered the school bus or have alighted and reached the side of the highway or street and until the school bus stops displaying its flashing red lights. Fine of up to $500
Nebraska   Class IV misdemeanor with a fine of $500. Three (3) points assessed against driving record.
Nevada   Misdemeanor offense. First offense is a fine between $250 and $500. Second offense within a year of the first offense is a fine between $250 and $500 and suspension of driver's license for 6 months. Third or any subsequent offense within 2 years after the last offense is a fine up to $1,000 and suspension of driver's license for up to 1 year. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
New Hampshire Must stop at least 25 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. First offense is fine of no less than $150; second offense is fine of $250 to $1,000 and possibly suspension of license for 30 days. Passing a stopped school bus on the right is a fine of $500 to $1,200 and license suspension of 30 days for first offense, no less than 30 days for second offense and 30 days to 120 days for subsequent offenses. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
New Jersey Must stop at least 25 feet away from a school bus. The driver is not allowed to proceed until the children have entered the school bus or have alighted and reached the side of the highway or street and until the school bus stops flashing its red lights. First offense is a fine of at least $100 and/or imprisonment for no more than 15 days or community service for 15 days. Second or subsequent offense is a fine of at least $250 and imprisonment for no more than 15 days. Five (5) points assessed against driving record.
New Mexico Must stop at least 10 feet away from a school bus. Drivers are not to proceed until the bus signals are turned off or the school bus resumes motion -- unless signaled by the bus driver. Misdemeanor with fine up to $300 and/or imprisonment up to 90 days. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
New York Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Drivers are not to proceed until the red stop flashing or the bus driver signals to proceed. First offense is a fine of $250 to $400 and/or imprisonment of 30 days. Second offense within a 3 year period is a fine of $600 to $750 and/or imprisonment of 180 days. Third offense within a 3 year period is a fine of $750 to $1,000 and/or imprisonment of 180 days. Third offense within 3 year period will be revocation of license for 6 months. Five (5) points assessed against driving record.
North Carolina   Class 1 misdemeanor with a minimum fine of $500. For a second offense that occurs within 3 years of the previous one, license revocation for 1 year. Five (5) points assessed against driving record.
North Dakota   Fine of $100. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
Ohio Must stop at least 10 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the bus driver signals to continue. Fine up to $500. Possible suspension of driver's license for no more than 1 year. Two (2) points assessed against driving record.
Oklahoma   A fine of at least $100. Upon conviction, revocation of driver's license for up to 1 year. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
Oregon   Class A traffic violation with a fine up to $2,000.
Pennsylvania Must stop at least 10 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the visual signals are no longer actuated. Fine of $250, 5 points assessed against driver's license and license suspension for 60 days.
Rhode Island Must stop at least 50 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until visual signals are no longer actuated. Fine of up to $300 and/or suspended license for 30 days. Second offense and any subsequent offense is a fine of $300 to $500 and/or revocation of license for 1 year.
South Carolina   Misdemeanor, first offense with fine of at least $500 or imprisonment of 30 days or community service for up to 10 days. For a second or any subsequent violation, fine of $2,000 up to $5,000 or imprisonment of 30 days up to 60 days. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
South Dakota Must stop at least 15 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until visual signals are no longer actuated. Class 2 misdemeanor. Up to a $500 fine and/or 30 days in jail.
Tennessee   Class A misdemeanor. Fine of $250 up to $1,000. Eight (8) points assessed against driving record.
Texas   Misdemeanor offense carrying a fine between $500 and $1,250 for a first time offense. For a second or subsequent offense within 5 years of the last offense, a fine between $1,000 and $2,000 and possible suspension of driver's license for up to 6 months. 
Utah   Class C misdemeanor. First time offense is a fine of $100. Second offense within 3 years of previous conviction is a fine of $200. Third offense  or any subsequent offense within 3 years of previous conviction is a fine of $500. Compensatory service in lieu of a fine.
Vermont   Fine up to $1000. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
Virginia   Considered reckless driving for passing a stopped school bus. Fine of $250. Six (6) points assessed against driving record.
Washington   Monetary penalty equal to twice the total penalty assessed. Monetary penalty up to $250, so total fine up to $500.
West Virginia   First offense is a fine between $250 and $500 and/or imprisonment in jail for no more than 6 months. Second offense is a fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or imprisonment up to 6 months. Third or any subsequent offense is a fine of $1,000 and imprisonment no less than 48 hours but no more than 6 months.
Wisconsin Must stop at least 20 feet away from a school bus. Cannot proceed until the bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. Fine between $30 and $300. Four (4) points assessed against driving record.
Wyoming   First offense is a fine up to $200 and/or up to 20 days in prison. Second offense within 1 year of the previous offense is a fine of up to $300 and/or up to 30 days in prison. Third offense or any subsequent offense within 1 year of the previous offense is a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in prison.